Roadway Safety Institute Student of the Year

The Roadway Safety Institute, the Region 5 University Transportation Center housed at CTS, selects one graduate student each year for the Outstanding Student of the Year Award. The award is sponsored by the U.S. Department of Transportation’s Office of the Assistant Secretary for Research and Technology.

The student selected receives a $2,000 award from the Institute and is presented with a certificate from high-ranking USDOT officials at a ceremony held in conjunction with the TRB Annual Meeting in Washington, DC, each January. The Institute also reimburses the student for his/her travel to the ceremony and TRB Annual Meeting.


Frank Alarcon

The recipient of the 2018 award for the Roadway Safety Institute (RSI) is Frank Alarcon. Advised by Frank Douma, Alarcon is working toward a master’s in urban and regional planning.

Frank Douma, Frank Alarcon, Max Donath

Past Winners


William Barbour, civil engineering, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign (Advisor: Daniel Work)


Brendan Murphy, civil engineering (Advisor: David Levinson)


Stephen Zitzow, civil engineering (Advisor: John Hourdos)